a window on the world

Merbaka Church, Agia Triada village, Argolida prefecture, Peloponnese region, Greece

The text is a prose poem by Charles Baudelaire.  The location where I shot each photo is in the photo’s caption.

Destroyed house, Agios Georgios beach, Folegandros island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

He who looks through an open window from the outside, never sees as many things as he who gazes at a closed window.

Sifnos island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

There is nothing deeper, more mysterious, more fecund, more shadowy, more dazzling, than a window lit up by a candle.

Panagia tou Kipou church, Kipos village, southern coast of the island of Milos, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

What one can see in the sun is always less interesting than what happens behind a pane of glass.  In that black and luminous hole, life lives, life dreams, life suffers.

Ermoupolis city, Syros island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

Over the billows of the roof tops, I see a mature woman, already wrinkled, poor, always bent over something, and who never goes out.

Agios Eleftherios church, Folegandros island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

Using her face, using her clothing, using almost nothing, I rewrote the story of this woman’s life, or rather her legend, and sometimes I recount it to myself and cry.

Kastro district, Chora town, Folegandros island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

If it had been a poor old man, I would have rewritten his just as easily.

Kerkyra center (Corfu Town), Kerkyra island (Corfu), Ionian Islands, Greece

And I go to bed, proud of having lived and suffered in others than myself.

Chorio village, Sikinos island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

Perhaps you will say to me: “Are you sure that that legend is true?”

Soufli town, Evros prefecture, Thrace region, Greece

What does it matter what reality might be outside of myself, if it helps me to live, to feel that I am and what I am?

Ermoupolis city, Syros island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

Ermoupolis

Ermoupolis

Soufli

Ermoupolis

Abandoned neoclassical house, above Emporeio village, Milos island, Cyclades prefecture, Greece

Ermoupolis

Sifnos

Poros town, Poros island, Argo-Saronic region, Greece

You might also like:
Give me a sign…
A walk through the shops…
The farmers’ market:  olives

8 thoughts on “a window on the world

Leave a Reply

